I was rudely awakened this morning, and for a moment, I was bewildered as to how I could have possibly woken before my alarm, as tired as I was last night. I soon realized, however, the culprit, as I became aware of the incessant throbbing in the upper right part of my mouth and the incredibly nauseated feeling in the pit of my stomach.

I rose out of bed, filled up a glass of water and downed more than the recommended daily dose of Excedrin, and tried to go back to sleep. About an hour of tossing and groaning later, I was able to sleep for a few minutes, and now, finally, the pain has subsided a little.

I went to the dentist last Thursday afternoon, which was really only to get the referral to the oral surgeon so I can get these puppies out. It’s not as if I had any doubt as to whether that would be necessary; I’ve known for years. Finally, I have the security and insurance and luxury of time to ensure that I can get them out without killing myself in a lot of different ways.

I was able to get in to get the panoramic x-ray of my mouth on Friday morning, which was pretty sweet to look at. I will sadly admit that it’s been far too long since I’ve had dental work done, due to the aforementioned insurancy (or lack of insurancy) junk. In the x-ray, I was able to see all four of my stupid wisdom teeth, none of which have enough room to live. The oral surgeon seemed pretty fascinated by the “mixed bag” of teeth tricks I had up my sleeve, and said that my issues were somewhat “unique.” I said I was just special. The grand tour of my mouth? Well, at position 1 (that’s the top right), we have an impacted tooth, that’s also sort of being held back by a little “extra” bit of tooth material as well. (Not completely unheard of – but the surgeon also said they don’t often see it.) On the other topside, we have a tooth of which I’ve been incredibly aware, as it’s already erupted out the side of my gums and is attacking my cheek. Directly below that one is the “normal” one of the bunch, which has erupted as well, in a sort of straight manner, though, as we could see by the x-ray, certainly doesn’t have enough room and is pushing against all things around it. Finally, the other bottom one is also impacted and will require a little bit of bone removal to extract. Whee!

Friday will not arrive soon enough.

